Crocheting a Baby Blanket

I am crocheting two baby blankets for a new mom.  She asked me if I would crochet a baby blanket for her for the baby girl that is due in August of this year. After finding out that the baby is a girl she told me the room is green, pink and yellow.  I then told her to make sure I was invited to the baby shower and I would then have it ready by then.  I decided to crochet her two blankets, one for the car seat and one for the baby to use as a toddler.

I am using some sport weight yarn for the first blanket.  It is going to be for the baby car seat.  I have worked a hole into it for the crouch strap to come up through.  It is pink and white variegated, lavender, and green so far. I have to find some yellow to put with it.  I have been given so much yarn that I have desired to use what I have on hand and not go buy any more yarn.

The other blanket is going to be made with some already leftover granny squares I was saving for a time like this.  I have taken pictures of them as I laid them out on my bed to try to see how they would look.  This one is going to have many colors and many textures of yarn.  Some are soft and some will soften up as it is washed.  This is like a learning blanket.  I also plan to find some white or off white to crochet them together and to trim or edge the whole blanket. 

I will also finish a sweater I have been working on that was intended for my granddaughter but will fit a baby at age 4 to 8 months old.  My granddaughter is growing faster than I can crochet for her.  The sweater I crochet for my granddaughter will be much bigger than I had been told she wore.  All in all I have much crocheting to do and a little bit of time to get in all crocheted.

Pictures to come.

Leave a Reply

